Statistics of candidates’ results in HKDSE and post-secondary places

HKDSE candidates may apply for the programmes provided by the local tertiary institutions. The programmes accredited by the Hong Kong Government have entered onto the Qualifications Register. By levels of study, the programmes can be classified as:

  • Degree courses (QF Level 5)
  • Sub-degree programmes, including Associate Degree and Higher Diploma (QF Level 4)

By geographical areas, the programmes can be classified as:

  • Degree and sub-degree programmes provided by about {{localNum}} local tertiary institutions.
  • Non-local degree programmes joint provided by overseas universities and local tertiary institutions.

By funding categories, the programmes can be classified as:

  • Bachelor’s degree programmes funded by the University Grants Committee (UGC). The programmes are provided by CityU, HKBU, LingnanU, CUHK, EdUHK, PolyU, HKUST, HKU which are generally referred as the "Eight Tertiary Institutions" by mass media.
  • UGC-funded sub-degree programmes provided by CityU, EdUHK and PolyU.
  • Bachelor’s degree programmes funded by the Study Subsidy Scheme for Designated Professions/Sectors (SSSDP) for the students entering the first year studies in 2015 or later. The programmes are provided by CIHE, CHC, HSMC, TWC, OUHK and VTC – THEi.
  • Publicly-funded bachelor’s degree programmes provided by the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts (HKAPA)
  • Publicly-funded sub-degree programmes provided by Vocational Training Council (VTC)
  • Self-financing bachelor’s degree programmes provided by about {{degNum}} tertiary institutions, including local and non-local courses.
  • Self-financing sub-degree programmes provided by about {{sdNum}} tertiary institutions.

The courses can be summarised in the table below:

Bachelor’s DegreeSub-degree
UGC-fundedEight Tertiary InstitutionsCityU, EdUHK, PolyU
SSSDPTotally {{sssdpNum}} local tertiary institutions
Publicly-fundedHKAPAVTC
Self-financingAbout {{degNum}} tertiary institutions, including local and non-local programmes. About {{sdNum}} local tertiary institutions

The tertiary institutions offering self-financing first-year-first-degree programmes

{{ins.name}}

The tertiary institutions offering self-financing sub-degree programmes

{{ins.name}}

To search for the details of the UGC-funded, SSSDP and some of the self-financing programmes of OUHK, please visit: HKDSE - JUPAS Programme Search

To search for the details of the publicly-funded, SSSDP and self-financing programmes, please visit: HKDSE - iPASS Programme Search

UGC-funded degree programmes

In {{year}}, totally {{r33222}} candidates obtained the results that met the general entrance requirements of the local undergraduate programmes at 3322+2 or above, i.e. {{r33222pc}} of all the sat candidates.

In HKDSE, the result of 3322+2 represents, in the 4 core subjects, Chinese Language and English Language at level 3, Mathematics Compulsory Part and Liberal Studies at level 2 respectively, and in addition any elective subject at level 2. This is generally considered as the minimum entrance requirement of the local funded bachelor’s degree programmes. However, some of the funded universities require 3322+33 as the minimum requirement, i.e., 2 elective subjects at level 3 or above. Some of the funded programmes require specific subjects or better results as minimum requirement. Please refer to the websites of the universities for the details.

There are 8 post-secondary institutions in Hong Kong providing undergraduate places funded by the UGC. Their minimum entrance requirements are:
3322+33 – CityU, CUHK, HKUST, HKU, PolyU,
3322+2 – HKBU, EdUHK, LingnanU.

UGC recommends the number of UGC-funded first-year full-time degree places at 15,000 per annum, including JUPAS, non-JUPAS and non-local places. Excluding about 3,000 non-JUPAS and non-local places, there are only about 12,000 something JUPAS funded places for the local HKDSE candidates to apply.

Because of the lack of funded undergraduate places compare with the number of candidates attained the minimum entrance requirement, the competition ratio (number of candidates competing for one place) usually at around 2, there is a remote chance for a candidate who just attained the minimum requirement at 3322+2 to get a place in the funded undergraduate programmes.

The minimum entrance requirement at 3322+2 is equivalent to a score at 12. However, total score of the best 5 subjects at 20 or above is a more practical result for a candidate to pursue a UGC-funded undergraduate place, but still many variables.

Calculation of total score is to add the grade points of the best 5 subjects with level 5** counted as 7 points, level 5* as 6 points, level 5 as 5 points, level 4 as 4 points, and so on, but no point below level 1.

Generally speaking, the result of the best 5 subjects at level 4 or above, with the core subjects at 3322 or above, i.e. total score of the best 5 subjects at 20 or above, is more practical to pursue a funded place. However, due to variation of the competition ratio each year, scores at 19 to 20 are marginal cases. Scores at 21 or above will have higher chance.

Cumulative curve of 5-subject score of the candidates having core subjects at 3322
Year
Shaded area shows the number of JUPAS UGC-funded places and scores of higher chance of intakes.

The total score of the best 5 subjects is just one of the factors of admission and serves as a reference only. Other factors include requirements of specific programme, competition ratio, candidates’ Student Learning Profile and performance at interviews, etc. Moreover, the statistics disclosed by HKEAA does not reflect the situation of repeaters who apply through JUPAS with more than one sitting in HKDSE. Therefore, there are many variables if the total score is in the range of 19 to 21.

Other degree programmes

In addition to UGC-funded degree courses, the HKDSE candidates may also apply for the publicly-funded (HKAPA), SSSDP and self-financing degree courses. HKAPA and SSSDP courses include areas of few professions and sectors, and less number of places. Therefore, self-financing degree courses are in main stream other than the UGC-funded programmes. However, without government funding, the tuition fee of the self-financing programmes is higher.

The minimum entrance requirements of other bachelor’s degree programmes are at 3322+2, similar to the UGC-funded programmes. However, the total number of places are still less than the number of candidates attaining the minimum entrance requirement.

SSSDP from 2015/16 to 2017/18 in 3 academic years subsidised around 1,000 places per cohort. From the academic year 2018/19, this plan has been regularised with an increase in number of subsidised places to around 3,000 per cohort.

Sub-degree programmes

Sub-degree includes associate degree and higher diploma. Both are at Level 4 in Qualifications Framework (QF). A sub-degree programme may be UGC-funded, publicly-funded or self-financing. The minimum entrance requirements are in general at 22+222, i.e. the best 5 subjects at Level 2 or above including Chinese Language and English Language.

In {{year}}, totally {{r33222}} candidates obtained the results that met the general entrance requirements of the local sub-degree programmes at 22+222 or above, i.e. {{r22222pc}} of all the sat candidates.

Accredited degree and sub-degree places all together (about 54,000) are more than the candidate attaining the minimum entrance requirements. It is not difficult for an HKDSE candidate to get a post-secondary place once his/her result meets the requirement.

文憑試考生成績及專上學額統計

文憑試考生可以文憑試成績,報讀本港專上院校各類課程。經港府評審的專上課程,已載錄於資歷名冊,以學科級別分類,可分為:

  • 學士學位課程(屬資歷架構第 5 級)
  • 副學位課程,包括副學士學位和高級文憑(屬資歷架構第 4 級)

以地區分類,可分為:

  • 本地專上院校,約 {{localNum}} 所 ,提供學士學位及副學位課程。
  • 本地專上院校與外地大學合辦的非本地學士學位課程。

以資助類別分類,可分為:

  • 大學教育資助委員會(教資會)資助的學士學位課程,課程由本地八所大專院校提供,包括:城大浸大嶺大中大教大理大科大港大,一般被傳媒俗稱為「八大院校」。
  • 教資會資助的副學位課程,由城大敎大理大提供。
  • 指定專業/界別課程資助計劃(SSSDP)所資助的學士學位課程,資助 2015 年或以後入讀第一年的學生,課程由明愛專上學院珠海學院恒管公大香港高科院東華提供。
  • 政府資助的學士學位課程,由演藝學院提供。
  • 政府資助的副學位課程,由職業訓練局(職訓局)提供。
  • 自資學士學位課程,由本港約 {{degNum}} 所專上院校提供,包括本地及非本地課程。
  • 自資副學位課程,由本港約 {{sdNum}} 所專上院校提供。

各類課程可歸納如下:

學士學位副學位
教資會資助八大院校城大, 教大, 理大
SSSDP 資助計劃本地各專上院校共 {{sssdpNum}} 所
政府資助演藝學院職訓局
自資各專上院校約 {{degNum}} 所,包括本地及非本地課程。 本地各專上院校約 {{sdNum}} 所

開辦自資第一年學士學位課程的專上院校

{{ins.name}}

開辦自資副學位課程的專上院校

{{ins.name}}

如要查閱敎資會資助、SSSDP 資助及部份公大的自資課程的詳情,請瀏覽:文憑試 - 聯招課程搜尋

如要查閱政府資助、SSSDP 資助及自資課程的詳情,請瀏覽:文憑試 - iPASS 課程搜尋

教資會資助學士學位課程

{{year}} 年度文憑試,共有 {{r33222}} 名考生考獲符合本地學士學位課程一般最低入學要求的 3322+2 或以上成績,是所有出席考生的 {{r33222pc}}。

在文憑試中取得 3322+2 的成績,是代表在四個核心科目中,兩個語文科(中、英文)考獲 3 級成績,數學必修部分和通識教育獲 2 級成績,另加任何一個選修科目獲 2 級成績。這一般會被視為本港資助學士學位的最低入學要求。但亦有部分資助院校要求 3322+33 或以上的成績,即是兩個選修科目獲 3 級或以上。此外,還有個別學士學位課程有指定的選修科目,或要求更高成績。請於各大專院校的網頁了解詳情。

本港共有 8 所大專院校提供受教資會資助的學士課程,其最低入學成績要求為:
3322+33 – 城大中大科大港大理大
3322+2 – 浸大教大嶺大

教資會建議資助的第一年全日制學士學位課程學額為每年 15,000 個,當中包括聯招、非聯招及非本地生的資助學額。扣除每年約 3,000 個非聯招及非本地生學額,僅餘約 12,000 多個聯招資助學額供本地文憑試考生報讀。

由於資助學士學位的學額遠少於考獲最低入學要求成績的考生,競爭比率(若干考生爭奪一個學額)通常約為 2 左右,所以如果考生僅僅達最低要求 3322+2 的成績,入讀資助學士學位課程的機會相當渺茫。

學士學位的最低入學要求 3322+2 相當於總積點 12 分。然而,最佳五科的總積點達 20 分或以上是考生爭取資助學士學位的較實際成績,但仍有不少變數。

總積點的計算方法是將表現最好五科的成績換算成積分後之總和。第 5** 級換得 7 分,第 5* 級換得 6 分,第 5 級換得 5 分,第 4 級換得 4 分,餘此類推,而第 1 級以下並沒有積分。

一般而言,最佳五科達第 4 級或以上,同時核心科目達 3322 或以上,即是最佳五科合計達 20 分或以上,是爭取資助學位較現實的成績。但因為競爭比率每年略有差異,所以獲 19 至 20 分屬邊緣個案,而 21 分或以上則機會較大。

核心科目達 3322 考生五科總積點累積曲線
年度
着色部分表示聯招資助學額的數目和被取錄機會較大的分數。

最佳五科總積點只是影響被取錄與否的其中一個因素,僅供參考,其他因素包括個別課程特定的入學要求、競爭比率、學生學習概覽的內容、面試表現等等。而且,考評局公佈的統計數據未能反映重考生以多於一屆的文憑試成績參與聯招的情況。所以總積點在 19 至 21 分之間仍存在不少變數。

其他學士學位課程

除了教資會資助的學士學位課程,還有政府資助(演藝學院)、SSSDP 資助及自資的課程供文憑試考生報讀。演藝學院及 SSSDP 資助的課程只限於某幾個專業或界別的範疇,而且學額較少,所以,自資學士課程成了教資會資助的「八大院校」課程以外的主流選擇。由於自資課程沒有政府資助,學費亦會相應較高。

「八大院校」以外的學士學位課程的最低入學要求,一般都定為 3322+2,與「八大院校」相若。但合計起來的學額仍然比文憑試考獲最低入學要求的考生少,所以仍有一定的競爭性。而且個別課程的競爭性相差甚遠,例如部分自資課程的收生成績在總積點 15 分左右,但個別課程可逹 20 分甚至更高。

SSSDP 資助計劃從 2015/16 至 2017/18 學年試行 3 屆,每年約資助 1,000 名學額。此計劃於 2018/19 學年開始行常化,並增加資助學額至每年約 3,000 名。

副學位課程

副學位包括副學士和高級文憑,兩者同屬資歷架構第 4 級。課程的資助類別有教資會資助、政府資助和自資。一般最低入學要求為 22+222,即最佳 5 科達第 2 級成績或以上,包括核心科目中的「中國語文」及「英國語文」。

{{year}} 年度文憑試,共有 {{r22222}} 名考生考獲符合本地副學位課程一般最低入學要求的 22+222 或以上成績,是所有出席考生的 {{r22222pc}}。

合資格的學士學位和副學位學額加起來(約 54,000 個),比考獲最低入學成績要求的考生數目為多。理論上,文憑試考生只要成績達標,就不難找到升學途徑。唯必須注意,考生宜先認清個人的興趣和志向,選擇有助自己將來發展事業的學科。