HKDSE - Category A: Senior secondary subjects

There are 24 category A subjects in HKDSE, including 4 core subjects (Chinese Language, English Language, Mathematics and Liberal Studies) and 20 elective subjects. The elective subjects are categorized into different learning areas, including "Language Education", "Personal, Social and Humanities Education", "Science Education", "Technology Education", "Arts Education" and "Physical Education".

Click on the following subjects for searching notes, exam papers, or viewing statistics.

The figures on the right are the number of entered candidates and percentage of each subject.

Core subjects

Elective subjects

In the HKDSE of {{yearEnt}}, {{maxentsubj}} had the most number of candidates entered, totally {{maxentnum}}. Whereas, {{minentsubj}} had the least number of candidates, only {{minentnum}}.

There is no definition for pass or failure in the HKDSE. However, we can take the minimum requirement, 3322, for admission to the universities as a reference. That is, level 3 or above as pass mark for the Chinese Language and English Language, and level 2 or above as pass mark for other subjects. By this definition, in the HKDSE of {{yearPass}}, {{maxpasssubj}} had the highest pass rate, {{maxpassrate}} while {{minpasssubj}} the lowest, only {{minpassrate}}.

Choices of subjects

In the core subjects, Chinese Language, English Language and Liberal Studies are compulsory. Whereas, Mathematics is divided into two parts: Compulsory Part and Extended Part. To apply for the local undergraduate programmes using HKDSE results, the compulsory part of Mathematics together with other core subjects are required. They are therefore generally called compulsory subjects. Nevertheless, the candidates are free to choose the Extended Part of Mathematics and all the elective subjects according to their interests and abilities. The Extended Part of Mathematics, if chosen, will be together with the compulsory part regarded as one subject, although the result of both parts will be reported separately on the certificate. Although the Extended Part of Mathematics is part of Core Subjects, many programmes of the tertiary institutions consider the Extended Part of Mathematics as an elective subject when calculating the admission score. For applying local sub-degree programmes, only Chinese Language and English Language in core subjects are required. Mathematics and Liberal Studies are optional.

Most of the Category A subjects consist of compulsory parts and elective parts. Compulsory parts serve as a broad-based foundation of knowledge and skills. Whereas, elective parts cater for candidates’ different interests, needs and abilities, and extend their studies in specialised areas. This attains a balance between breadth and depth.

Some of the Category A subjects including elective parts are listed below:
  • Mathematics (Extended Part) – A candidate may choose either Module 1 (M1): Calculus and Statistics, or, Module 2 (M2): Algebra and Calculus.
  • Business, Accounting and Financial Studies – A candidate may choose either Accounting Module or Business Management Module.
  • Combined Science – consists of Biology, Chemistry and Physics. A candidate needs to choose two out of the three parts. Therefore, there are totally 3 combinations: Biology and Chemistry, Biology and Physics, Chemistry and Physics.
  • Ethics and Religious Studies – the elective part includes two modules: Buddhism and Christianity. A candidate may choose one of them. EDB is planning to add Confucianism, Islam and Taoism to the elective part at a later phase.
  • Technology and Living – composed of two strands: Food Science and Technology, and, Fashion, Clothing and Textiles. A candidate may choose one of them. Each strand consists of 3 elective parts for selecting 2 out of 3.
Not all the secondary schools offer all the elective subjects. The school candidates are therefore restricted when choosing elective subjects. If a school offers an elective subject that contains elective parts, the school may not have all the elective parts in the curriculum. According to the survey report conducted by EDB in 2016 on 448 secondary schools in Hong Kong offering the local senior secondary curriculum in the 2016/17 school year, on average each school offered about 11 elective subjects. The key points of the survey results are listed below:
  • The elective subjects offered by over 90% of the schools were: "Mathematics Extended Parts", "Economics", "Geography", "Biology", "Chemistry", "Physics", "Business, Accounting and Financial Studies".
  • The elective subjects offered by less than 10% of the schools were: "Literature in English", "Science: Integrated Science", "Technology and Living".
  • For the Extended Part of Mathematics, some of the schools offered Module 1 or Module 2 only. Some offered both of them. Overall, number of schools offering Module 2 was more than the schools offering Module 1 by 28%.
  • For Combined Science, more schools offered the combination of "Biology + Chemistry", totally 42 schools.
  • "Technology and Living: Fashion, Clothing & Textiles" was offered by the fewest number of schools, only 6.
The same report indicates that the pattern of elective subjects offered similar to those of the last 7 school years.

School-based assessment

Some of the Category A subjects in HKDSE include School-based Assessment (SBA). The assessment is carried out by the candidates’ own subject teachers. The marks awarded will be part of the results in the HKDSE.

School candidates have to complete SBA of their entered subjects in order to obtain the marks of the SBA part in the final results of HKDSE. Private candidates are not required to join SBA. Their SBA marks in the final results are obtained by referencing the SBA marks of the school candidates having the same results in the public exams. The private candidates of Visual Arts have to submit their own portfolios in lieu of SBA. The weighting of the portfolio is the same as SBA of school candidates. To know more, please visit: HKDSE - School-based assessment

Language version

The candidates may sit the examination of each core or elective subject in either Chinese or English (except language subjects and Chinese History). However, school candidates would be restricted by the medium of instruction policy of their schools. Usually, the candidates are required to choose the languages that accord with the medium of instruction of the schools to complete their SBA and to sit the HKDSE. In the examination, the candidates will be examined using the exam papers of their language choice. The content of both language versions are identical. The language medium used by the candidates will not be recorded in the results report or the certificate. The grades obtained by the candidates or their further study will not be affected by their choice of language version. To know more about the medium of instruction policy of local schools, please visit: HKDSE - Local secondary schools

Levels of results

The results for Category A subjects are indicated by 5 levels, from the lowest Level 1 to the highest Level 5. Within Level 5, approximate 10% of the top candidates are awarded Level 5**. Approximate 30% of the next top candidates are awarded 5*. The rest 60% are awarded Level 5. However, for "Chinese Language", "English Language" and "Combined Science", the cut scores for Level 5** and Level 5* are determined by other systems. The ratio may not be 10% and 30%. The results below Level 1 are "Unclassified" or designated by "U" and are not reported on the certificate. Therefore, there are totally 8 possibilities in the results of Category A subjects, from high to low as: 5**, 5*, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, U.

文凭试 - 甲类:高中科目

文凭试的甲类科目共有 24 科,包括 4 个核心科目(中国语文、英国语文、数学及通识教育)和 20 个选修科目。选修科目归类为多个学习领域,包括「语文教育」、「个人、社会及人文教育」、「科学教育」、「科技教育」、「艺术教育」及「体育」。

按以下科目搜寻​​笔记、试题,或浏览相关统计资料。

右方的数字为最近一届文凭试,各科的报考人数和百分比。

核心科目

选修科目

在 {{yearEnt}} 年的文凭试,最多考生报考的科目是「{{maxentsubj}}」,共有 {{maxentnum}} 人;而最少考生报考的科目是「{{ minentsubj}}」,只有 {{minentnum}} 人。

文凭试的制度并没有定义何谓合格或不合格,但可以大学最低入学要求 3322 作参考,中国语文及英国语文科获第 3 级或以上成绩为之合格,而其他科目则以第 2 级或以上成绩为之合格。以此定义,在 {{yearPass}} 年的文凭试中,合格率最高的科目是「{{maxpasssubj}}」,达 {{maxpassrate}};而合格率最低的科目是「{{minpasssubj}}」,只有 {{minpassrate}}

科目选择

核心科目中的中国语文、英国语文及通识教育为必修的,而数学科则设有两部分:必修部分和延伸部分。如以文凭试成绩报读本地的学士课程,数学科的必修部分连同其余三个核心科目都是必要的,所以它们一般被称为必修科。而数学科的延伸部分和其余的选修科目,考生都可根据自己的兴趣和能力自由选修。如报考数学科的延伸部分,该部分会与数学科的必修部分视作同一科,但两部分的成绩会在成绩单上分别列出。虽然数学科的延伸部分是属于核心科目,但不少专上院校的课程在计算收生成绩时都将数学科的延伸部分视作一个独立的选修科目。如要报读本地的副学位课程,核心科目中只有中国语文和英国语文是必修科,数学和通识都视作选修科。

大部分甲类科目都包含必修部分和选修部分。必修部分涵盖较广阔的基础知识及技能,而选修部分可配合考生的兴趣、学习需要和能力,在某课题上有更深入的研习,以取求广度与深度之间的平衡。

部分设有选修部分的甲类科目如下:
  • 数学科延伸部分——设有单元一(M1):「微积分与统计」及单元二(M2):「代数与微积分」,考生可选修其中一个单元。
  • 企业、会计与财务概论——设有「会计单元」及「商业管理单元」,考生可二选其一。
  • 组合科学——设有「生物」部分、「化学」部分及「物理」部分,考生须要选修其中两个部分,所以一共有三个不同的组合:分别为「生物」与「化学」、「生物」与「物理」、「化学」与「物理」。
  • 伦理与宗教——选修部分设有单元一:「佛教」和单元二:「基督宗教」,考生可二选其一。教育局将于较后日子在选修部分加入「孔教」、「伊斯兰教」和「道教」。
  • 科技与生活——设有两个学习范畴:「食品科学与科技」和「服装、成衣与纺织」,考生可二选其一。而每个范畴亦各自包含三个选修部分,供考生三选其二。
并不是每所中学都会开办所有的选修科目,所以学校考生选科时会某程度上受到限制。如该选修科目包含选修部分,即使某中学有开办,亦不一定能提供该科目的所有选修部分。根据教育局在 2016 年对全港 448 所提供本地高中课程的中学于 2016/17 学年开办高中科目的调查报告显示,平均每所中学开办约 11 个选修科目,调查结果的重点如下:
  • 超过90% 的中学有开办的选修科目包括:「数学延伸部分」、「经济」、「地理」 、「生物」、「化学」、「物理」、「企业、会计与财务概论」。
  • 少于 10% 的中学有开办的选修科包括:「英语文学」、「科学:综合科学」、「科技与生活」。
  • 数学科的延伸部分方面,部分中学只有单元一或单元二,亦有一些中学同时开办两个单元。整体而言,有单元二的中学比有单元一的多28%。
  • 组合科学方面,「生物+化学」这个组合有最多中学开办,共 42 所。
  • 最少中学开办的选修科是「科技与生活:服装、成衣与纺织」,只有 7 所。
该报告亦表示学校开办选修科目的情况与过往 7 个学年相若。
数据来源:高中科目资料调查

校本评核

部分文凭试甲类科目设有校本评核的制度,是由学校的任教老师评核学生日常学习的表现,所得分数会计算入最终文凭试的成绩中。

学校考生须完成报考科目的校本评核,以取得总成绩中校本评核部份的分数。而自修生则无须进行校本评核,在总成绩中校本评核的分数,是参考公开试中取得相同成绩的学校考生的校评分数,作调整后得来。已报考视觉艺术科的自修生,须呈交作品集取代校本评核,作品集的分数在总成绩中的比重与学校考生的校本评核相同。 想了解更多,请浏览:文凭试 - 校本评核

应考语言

文凭试各核心科目和选修科目,考生均可选择使用中文或英文作答(语文科目和中史科除外)。但学校考生会受到所就读中学的教学语言政策限制,通常都需要选择与学校的教学语言相同的语言来完成校本评核和应考文凭试。考生所选择的应考语言,决定在试场上,考生获发试卷的语言版本。每份试卷的中、英文版本的内容是相同的,而且考生的应考语言并不会记录于成绩通知书或证书上,亦不会影响评分或升学。想了解各本地中学的教学语言政策,请浏览:本地中学文凭试资讯

成绩等级

甲类科目的成绩共有 5 个等级,由最低的第 1 级至最高的第 5 级。而第5 级之中,成绩最优异的约10% 考生可获5**级,次优异的约30% 考生可获5* 级,其余约60% 考生则获第5 级,但甲类科目中的「中国语文」、「英国语文」及「组合科学」另有基制来厘定5** 和5* 级的临界分数,所以比例不一定是10% 和30%。第一级以下的成绩称为「不予评级」或以 U 代表,但不会在证书上列出。所以,甲类科目的成绩共有 8 个可能性,从优至劣排序为:5**5*54321U