HKDSE - Introduction to JUPAS and application procedure

Joint University Programmes Admissions System (JUPAS) is a unified system for the the HKDSE candidates to apply for the full-time undergraduate programmes provided by the main tertiary institutions in Hong Kong.

Joined institutions and programmes

There are over 10 institutions joined JUPAS. The programmes available for application through JUPAS include the following categories:

  1. University Grants Committee (UGC)-funded full-time bachelor’s degree programmes
    Institutions: City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong Baptist University, Lingnan University, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, The Education University of Hong Kong, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, The University of Hong Kong
    (Those are generally referred as the “Eight Tertiary Institutions” by mass media)
  2. UGC-funded full-time associate degree programmes
    Institutions: City University of Hong Kong
  3. UGC-funded full-time higher diploma programmes
    Institutions: The Education University of Hong Kong, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  4. Self-financing full-time bachelor’s degree programmes
    Institutions: The Open University of Hong Kong
  5. Study Subsidy Scheme for Designated Professions / Sectors (SSSDP) bachelor’s degree programmes
    Institutions: Caritas Institute of Higher Education, Chu Hai College of Higher Education, Hang Seng University of Hong Kong, The Open University of Hong Kong, Technological & Higher Edu. Institute of HK, VTC, Tung Wah College
    SSSDP from 2015/16 to 2017/18 in 3 academic years subsidised around 1,000 places per cohort. From the academic year 2018/19, this plan has been regularised with an increase in number of subsidised places to around 3,000 per cohort. To know more, please visit: here…

Application procedure

To apply for the JUPAS programmes starting from {{year}}, you need to submit application on the JUPAS website during the period from {{appBegin}} to {{appEnd}}. An applicant may choose maximum 20 programmes. The 20 choices are ordered in 5 bands, Bands A to E. The first 3 choices are included in Band A, choices 4 to 6 in Band B and so on as shown in the table below:

By the allocation mechanism of JUPAS, each applicant will receive either one offer, or no offer at all. Before, the announcement of the Main Round offer results, the institutions will only be informed the Band in which the programme is put, but not the actual order in the list. According to the statistics of JUPAS, most of the offers came from the Band A choices. Therefore, the first 3 choices and their orders are the most critical. In order to maximize the chance of receiving an offer, the applicants need to appropriately select and order the programme choices by estimating their HKDSE results in different application stages and referencing the admission scores, competition ratios, etc. of their favourite programmes.

Start of JUPAS application

Short after commencement of S.6, applicants may create and activate accounts in the JUPAS website and start the procedure of JUPAS application from {{appBegin}} onwards. Before the deadline at {{appEnd}}, the applicants need to pay application fees and submit the programme choices (maximum 20) with their order. Because the HKDSE has not been started at that period, the applicants need to estimate their HKDSE results and to take into account the admission scores and competition ratios of the programmes in the past years. And then estimate the chances of getting offers of their favourite programmes. This helps them to choose the appropriate programmes and to determine the appropriate order of the programme choices that will be the most benefit to them.

Updating of programme choices (first round)

The first round of programme choices updating will be started at {{upd1Begin}} after the deadline for submission of applications, until {{upd1End}}. Applicants may add, delete, replace or re-order their programme choices as long as the total number of programme choices does not exceed 20. Amendment fees are required for each submission of updating. During this time of period, the HKDSE has been coming to the end or has been finished. Although the exam results has not been released, the applicants should have idea about their performances in the exam and hence more accurate the estimation on their chances of getting offers. Applicants may change their programme choices and/or orders to improve the odds.

Submission of other documents

Before deadline for the first round updating, there are few deadlines for submission of other documents. The documents are useful for the institutions as references to consider the applications.

{{oeaDl}}: submission of "Other Experiences and Achievements in Competitions / Activities (OEA)". The applicants may list maximum 10 items of the activities and awards in the OEA, and optionally add an article of word limit at 500 in either Chinese or English to describe interests or activities that have affected their personal growth and life goals.

{{srrDl}}: submission of "School Reference Report". School Reference Reports are completed and submitted by school principal, or by teachers who are authorised by the school principal. Non-school applicants may download the "Reference Report" forms from the JUPAS accounts and invite referees aged 18 or above to complete the forms.

{{slpDl}}: submission of "Student Learning Profile (SLP)". The SLPs provide information on the applicants’ whole person development encompassing their personal qualities and competencies. The SLPs include systematic expression of the activities and reflection in the "Other Learning Experiences" during the senior secondary curriculum. They should be submitted in PDF format with file size not more than 3MB.

{{spnDl}}: submission of "School Principal’s Nominations (SPN)". If the applicants have made outstanding achievements in sports, music, social services, other cultural activities, leadership abilities or other non-academic activities, they are eligible to be considered for nominations under SPN by their school principals or the principals of their previous schools. The nomination under SPN will be considered by the institutions concerned for their Band A programme choices only at the deadline of the first round programme updating. If after release of the HKDSE results, the nominated applicants have moved other programme choices to Band A, the relevant institutions may not consider the nominations. This plan is to support the outstanding students. Each secondary school is allocated a quota in pro-rata of the number of students in the school. The institutions may consider to give conditional offers before release of HKDSE results, or to give higher scores to the nominated applicants. If the nominated applicants have moved the programmes away from Band A after release of HKDSE results, they would lose the conditional offers or the higher scores.

24-hour updating after release of HKDSE results

After release of HKDSE results on {{result}}, the applicants may modify their programme choices during their allotted time-slot of 24 hours within the period from {{upd2Begin}} to {{upd2End}}. The applicants may check from their JUPAS accounts for the allocated time-slots from {{checkTimeSlot}} onwards. It is the last opportunity to modify the programme choices. The modifications are free of charge but can be done only ONCE in the following options:

  1. Replacement up to 5 programme choices,
  2. Addition of at most 5 programme choices as long as the total number of programme choices does not exceed 20,
  3. Deletion of selected programme choices with at least one choice remaining in the list
  4. Changing the preference order of the programme choices.
At this stage, the applicants have already known their actual HKDSE results. Moreover, the institutions and mass media have announced the competition ratios after the first round updating of programme choices. The applicants should have the maximum amount of information for making final decisions on the programme choices. If the applicants think that the HKDSE results are not reasonable, they may apply to the HKEAA for Rechecking and Remarking (RR) of HKDSE results. If the HKDSE results are upgraded after RR, the applicants may request to JUPAS for reconsideration of their applications for offers.

Announcement of Main Round offer results

JUPAS will announce the main round offer results at {{mainRound}}. Each applicant will receive either ONE offer or no offer at all. The applicants who accept the offers must pay acceptance fees before {{acceptMainRound}}. The paid fees are not refundable. No matter the applicants accept or decline the offers, they will not be reconsidered for admission to any other programmes in the same academic year. The applicants with pending RR results and also Main Round offers are highly recommended to firstly accept the offers. Otherwise, if in case the results are not upgraded after RR or no better offers after result upgrade, there are high possibilities of losing all chances of receiving offers. The applicants without offers in the Main Round will automatically enter a Clearing Round for vacancies if any.

Release of the results of RR of HKDSE results

The RR results will be announced by the HKAEE short after announcement of Main Round offers on {{rrResult}}. The applicants with upgraded HKDSE results after RR are eligible to request for reconsideration of their applications based on RR results, regardless of whether they have received or have accepted their Main Round offers. They will also be given one more free-of-charge modification of their programme choices. The options of modifications are the same as the "24-hour updating". There are two scenarios of requesting for reconsideration of applications:

  1. Applicants who are not satisfied with their Main Round offers may request for "reconsideration of applications for ’better’ offers". The institutions will only reconsider the programmes placed above the programmes they have been offered in the Main Round. The applicants may change the position of the Main Round offer in order to set the programmes that will be reconsidered. The programmes of the Main Round offers are not allowed to be deleted. If the applicants eventually are given better offers, the original Main Round offers will be withdrawn. Therefore, the applicants should make sure the programmes placed above the Main Round offers must be your more favourite programmes.
  2. The applicants who have not received any offer in the Main Round may request for "reconsideration of applications for offers".
The offer results for reconsideration of applications based on RR results will be announced at {{rrOfferResult}}. The applicants with new offers must accept the offer and pay acceptance fees by {{rrAcceptOffer}}. The applicants do NOT need to pay the acceptance fees again if they have paid acceptance fees for the Main Round offers. JUPAS will transfer the related amount to their "better" offers.

Announcement of Clearing Round offer results

Only the applicants who do not receive Main Round offers will enter the Clearing Round. Applicants may log on their JUPAS accounts to check the Clearing Round results that will be announced at {{clearResult}}. Applicants who are given Clearing Round offers need to pay acceptance fees before {{acceptClear}}. Only the applicants without Main Round and Clearing Round offers will be considered in the Subsequent Round.

Announcement of Subsequent Round offer results

The Subsequent Round offer results will be announced at {{subResult}}. Each successful applicant may receive more than one offer from OUTSIDE of the selected programme choices. However, such applicant can accept only ONE of them. Applicants who are given Subsequent Round offers need to pay acceptance fees before {{acceptSub}}. Otherwise, the applicants will be regarded as having declined their offers. The institutions may further consider the applicants who have declined the offers or did not receive offers in the Subsequent Round only if vacancies are still available.


The dates of deadlines and announcements above may be changed every year. Please visit the website of JUPAS for the exact dates.

文凭试 - 「联招」简介及申请程序

「大学联合招生办法」(简称「联招」或 JUPAS),是有多所本港主要专上院校参与的派位机制,为文凭试考生提供报读本地全日制专上课程的主要途径。

参与院校及课程种类

共有十多所大专院校参与联招,提供考生报读的专上课程包括以下几类:

  1. 大学教育资助委员会(教资会)资助的全日制学士学位课程
    院校: 香港城市大学, 香港浸会大学, 岭南大学, 香港中文大学, 香港教育大学, 香港理工大学, 香港科技大学, 香港大学
    (一般被传媒俗称为「八大资助院校」、「八大院校」或「八大」)
  2. 教资会资助的全日制副学士学位课程
    院校: 香港城市大学
  3. 教资会资助的全日制高级文凭课程
    院校: 香港教育大学, 香港理工大学
  4. 自资全日制学士学位课程
    院校: 香港公开大学
  5. 指定专业/界别课程资助计划」(简称SSSDP)所资助的全日制学士学位课程
    院校: 明爱专上学院, 珠海学院, 香港恒生大学, 香港公开大学, 香港高等教育科技学院(职训局), 东华学​​院
    SSSDP 资助计划从 2015/16 至 2017/18 学年试行 3 屆,每年约资支助 1,000 名学额。此计划于 2018/19 学年开始行常化,并增加资助学额至每年约 3,000 名。想了解更多,请浏览:这里…

申请程序

要报读 {{year}} 年开学的联招课程,需于文凭试还未开考的时候,{{appBegin}}{{appEnd}} 期间在联招网站递交入学申请。申请者需选择最多 20 个课程,並根据自己的志愿,将选择排序。20 个选择又按排序分为 5 个组別,分別为组別 A 至 E。首 3 个志愿属组別 A,志愿 4 至 6 为组別 B,如此类推,见下表:

以联招的派位机制,每名申请者只会被一个课程取录,或不获任何取录。在正式遴选结果公布之前,各院校只会获通知课程放在哪个组别,而不会知道课程的实际排序。据联招公布的统计数字,往年大部分取录学额都是从组别 A 派出,所以首 3 个志愿的课程选择和次序最为关键。为了适当地选择课程及排序,申请者需分阶段估计自己文凭试的成绩,并了解自己心仪课程的收生成绩及竞争比率等数据,两者配合才有较大机会被取录。

启动联招申请

于中六刚开学不久,申请人可于 {{appBegin}} 起在联招网站开立并启动帐户,展开申请程序。申请人须于 {{appEnd}} 截止日期前,缴交申请费,并递交课程选择和排序,最多可选 20 个课程。因为在这阶段文凭试仍未开考,所以申请人需要估计自己将会考获的成绩,并参考往年各课程的收生成绩和竞争比率等数据,来估算自己被心仪课程取录的机率,以选择适合自己的课程及作出最有优势的排序。

第一轮改选

截止申请后,便随即在 {{upd1Begin}} 开始第一轮改选,直至 {{upd1End}}。申请人可随意增、减或取代已填报的课程选择,亦可更改次序,但课程选择不得多于 20 项,而且每次修改都须要缴交改选费。在这期间文凭试已接近尾声,或已经结束。虽然仍未放榜,但申请人应该对自己的考试表现有一定掌握,能够较准确地估计被取录的机率。如经过重新考虑,需要修改课程选择和排序,可在这阶段进行,以提高胜算。

递交其他文件

第一轮改选截止之前,还有数个文件递交的截止日期需要注意,这些文件可供各专上院校作甄选入学申请时参考。

{{oeaDl}}:递交「比赛/活动的经验及成就 (OEA)」。列出申请者曾参与的活动或比赛,或曾获的奖项,但不可多于 10 项。亦可附加文字,中英皆可,描述这些兴趣或活动如何影响个人成长及人生目标,字数上限为 500 字。

{{srrDl}}:递交「学校评核报告」或「评核报告」。「学校评核报告」由申请人所属学校的校长或校长授权的老师填写及递交。非学校申请人可在联招帐户内下载「评核报告」表格给予年满 18 岁的评核者填写。

{{slpDl}}:递交「学生学习概览 (SLP)」,是有关申请人全人发展(包括个人质素及能力)的参考资料。主要记录高中课程所参与的「其他学习经历 (OLE)」,将曾参与的活动资料及反思有系统地整理和表达,以不大于 3MB 的 PDF 档案递交。

{{spnDl}}:递交「校长推荐计划 (SPN)」。如申请人于体育、音乐、社会服务、其他文化活动或领袖才能等非学术范畴上有卓越表现,可由所就读或曾就读学校的校长推荐参加此项计划。此计划只会就第一轮改选截止时组别 A 的课程选择给予所属院校作考虑,如申请人在文凭试放榜后将课程加入组别 A,该院校或不会就此计划作考虑。此为一项提拔杰出学生的计划,每所中学可按学生人数的比例获分配此计划的名额,而各院校可考虑在放榜前有条件取录被推荐的学生,或在甄选申请者时给予较高分数。若申请人在放榜后将课程移离组别 A 或成绩未达要求,申请人或会丧失有条件取录资格或较高评分。

放榜后的改选 24 小时

{{result}} 文凭试放榜日后由 {{upd2Begin}}{{upd2End}},申请人可在预先获分配的指定时段(为期 24 小时)修改课程选择。申请人可于 {{checkTimeSlot}} 起,在联招帐户查阅所获分配的时段。这是最后一次改选机会,费用全免,但只可改动一次及只可以下列方式作出:

  1. 更换最多5 个课程选择
  2. 增选最多 5 个课程,惟全部课程选择不得多于 20 项
  3. 删除已选择的课程,但全部课程选择不得少于 1 项
  4. 任意更改已选课程的次序
在这阶段考生已确实知道自己的文凭试成绩,而各院校及传媒亦已公布上一阶段改选之后各课程的竞争比率,所以考生应能掌握最多的资讯以作出最后的改选决定。如果考生认为所获得的成绩不合理,可向考评局申请成绩覆核 (RR)。如覆核之后成绩有所提升,考生可向联招要求按照机制重新考虑入学申请。

正式遴选结果公布

{{mainRound}},联招会公布正式遴选结果。申请人只会被最多一个课程取录,或不获任何取录。申请人如接受取录,须于 {{acceptMainRound}} 前缴交留位费,所缴交的费用将不获发还。不论申请人是否接受这取录,在同一学年都不会再被其他课程取录。如申请人正在等候成绩覆核结果而又在正式遴选获取录,应积极考虑先接受取录,否则,若万一成绩经覆核后未获提升,或成绩提升后却不获更心仪的课程取录,申请人很大机会丧失所有被取录的机会。而在正式遴选不获取录的申请人将自动进入补选程序,竞逐余下的空缺学额。

成绩覆核结果公布

在正式遴选结果公布后不久,考评局会在 {{rrResult}} 公布成绩覆核结果。如经覆核成绩有所提升,不论在正式遴选是否已获取录或是否已接受取录,均可要求重新考虑入学申请,并且获多一次修改课程选择的机会,改选方式与文凭试放榜后的「改选 24 小时」相同,费用全免。重新考虑入学申请亦有两种情况:

  1. 申请人已在正式遴选获取录但对结果不满,可申请「较高次序的课程取录资格」,这情况各院校只会重新考虑排列在已获取录的课程之前的课程申请,申请人可改变已获取录的课程在名单中的位置,来设定可获重新考虑的课程数目,但不可以删除已获取录的课程。如结果获较高次序的课程取录,原有的取录资格将被撤回,所以改选时必须注意,排在已获取录的课程之前的,必定是更心仪的课程。
  2. 申请人未获任何取录,可申请「重新考虑给予取录资格」。
重新考虑入学申请的结果约于 {{rrOfferResult}} 公布,如获重新取录者,须于 {{rrAcceptOffer}} 前接受取录并缴交留位费。但如果申请人已在正式遴选后缴交留位费,只要在限期前接受取录,联招会将有关费用转移至较高次序的课程,无须重覆缴交留位费。

补选结果公布

只有在正式遴选中未获取录的考生才会进行补选。补选结果会在 {{clearResult}} 公布,考生可于当日登入联招网站查看补选结果,如获取录须于 {{acceptClear}} 前缴交留位费。如申请人在正式遴选及补选均未获取录,会自动进入第二轮补选。

第二轮补选结果公布

第二轮补选结果通常于 {{subResult}} 公布,申请人有可能获多于一项未有选报的课程取录,但只可接受其中一项。获取录的申请人须于 {{acceptSub}} 前缴交留位费,否则视作放弃取录资格。在第二轮补选之后,如各院校尚有剩余学额,该院校或会再考虑已放弃取录或未获取录的申请人。


以上各截止日期及公布日期会每年略作更改,请浏览联招网站以得知确实日期。

资料来源:大学联合招生办法