Introduction to HKDSE

The Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Examination, or HKDSE, is a public examination for the new academic structure. The new academic structure implemented since 2009. After completing the 3-year senior secondary curriculum (S.4 to S.6), the student may attend the HKDSE. The attained results are essential for applying the 4-year bachelor degree or 2-year sub-degree programmes through JUPAS or E-APP, or choosing other development paths.

Senior secondary subject

The students who intend to take the HKDSE are required to choose the elective subjects at S.3 for their study in S.4 to S.6. Students are required to take the 4 core subjects (so-called compulsory subjects) and maximum 4 elective subjects. However, 2 to 3 elective subjects are recommended to most of the students. The new curriculum has no barrier of traditional arts and science streaming. When choosing the elective subjects, the students should consider individual interest, aptitudes and aspirations. These help the students to have the best performance in the examination and better pathways for future development. To achieve the aims of whole-person development, students are required to participate in Other Learning Experiences (OLE), which can be used as reference when applying the post-secondary programmes.

Subject categories

The subjects of HKDSE are divided into 3 categories:

Category A: Senior secondary subjects

There are 24 category A subjects in HKDSE, including 4 core subjects (Chinese Language, English Language, Mathematics and Liberal Studies) and 20 elective subjects. The elective subjects are categorized into different learning areas, including "Language Education", "Personal, Social and Humanities Education", "Science Education", "Technology Education", "Arts Education" and "Physical Education". To know more, please visit: HKDSE - Category A: Senior secondary subjects

Category B: Applied Learning Subjects

Applied learning (or ApL) subjects in HKDSE emphasise candidates’ knowledge, understanding and skills related to the particular industries. The subjects are provided by more than 10 course providers that are approved by the Education Bureau. Each course lasts for 2 years. To know more, please visit: HKDSE - Category B: Applied Learning Subjects

Category C: Other Language Subjects

Other Language Subjects in HKDSE include 6 languages: French, German, Hindi, Japanese, Spanish and Urdu. HKEAA makes use of the exam papers of the Advanced Subsidiary (AS) level from Cambridge Assessment International Education (Cambridge International) for the six subjects. And Cambridge International also conducts marking and grading. To know more, please visit: HKDSE - Category C: Other Language Subjects

Choices of subjects

Category A includes 4 core subjects in which "Chinese Language", "English Language", "Mathematics" Compulsory Part and "Liberal Studies" are the required subjects for entering the local undergraduate programmes. They therefore generally called "compulsory subjects". The extended part of "Mathematics" is optional. For entering the local sub-degree programmes, only "Chinese Language" and "English Language" are required subjects.

Besides the 4 core subjects, each candidate may choose at most 4 elective subjects from the 20 Category A elective subjects, Category B Applied Learning Subjects of various areas and the 6 Category C Other Language Subjects. However, choosing 2 to 3 elective subjects is the most popular. A candidate can enter maximum 8 subjects in each examination. The Extended Part of Mathematics from Category A, if chosen, will be together with the compulsory part regarded as one subject, but not an extra elective subject. However, many JUPAS programmes consider the Extended Part of Mathematics as an elective subject when calculating the admission score. In general, a candidate should not take less than 6 subjects. It is because many JUPAS programmes have the minimum requirement of 4 core subjects plus at least 2 elective subjects. If a candidate takes only 5 subjects, the choices of JUPAS programmes will be greatly reduced. For those taking 8 subjects, at least one of them must be chosen from the following subjects: (Category A) Ethics and Religious Studies, Music, Physical Education, Visual Arts, all subjects from Category B and all subjects from Category C. The Category B Applied Learning Subjects are 2-year programmes. Candidates may apply to EDB through their schools for, stating from S.5, taking at most 2 Category B subjects.

Levels of results

The results of the subjects in Categories A, B and C have different presentations.

Category A: Senior secondary subjects

The results for Category A subjects are indicated by 5 levels, from the lowest Level 1 to the highest Level 5. Within Level 5, approximate 10% of the top candidates are awarded Level 5**. Approximate 30% of the next top candidates are awarded 5*. The rest 60% are awarded Level 5. However, for "Chinese Language", "English Language" and "Combined Science", the cut scores for Level 5** and Level 5* are determined by other systems. The ratio may not be 10% and 30%. The results below Level 1 are "Unclassified" or designated by "U" and are not reported on the certificate. Therefore, there are totally 8 possibilities in the results of Category A subjects, from high to low as: 5**, 5*, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, U.

Category B: Applied Learning Subjects

The results for Category B subjects have 3 possibilities. Their orders from high to low are: "Attained with distinction", "Attained" and "Unattained". The unattained results are not reported on the certificate. Effective from 2018 HKDSE, "Attained with distinction" will be refined into "Attained with distinction (I)" and "Attained with distinction (II)", excluding "Applied Learning Chinese (for non-Chinese speaking students)".

Category C: Other Language Subjects

The results for Category C subjects are indicated by 5 grades: a, b, c, d, e. Grade a is the highest and grade e is the lowest. The results below grade e are "Ungraded" or designated by U and are not reported on the certificate.

Representation of HKDSE results

The result of a candidate is usually simply represented by a sequence of numbers with a plus sign (+) in between. For example: {{ex[0]}}{{ex[1]}}{{ex[2]}}{{ex[3]}}+{{ex[4]}}{{ex[5]}}

The 4 numbers before the plus sign represent the results of the 4 core subjects respectively in the order of "Chinese Language" (Level {{ex[0]}}), "English Language" (Level {{ex[1]}}), "Mathematics" (Level {{ex[2]}}) and "Liberal Studies" (Level {{ex[3]}}). The numbers however after the plus sign represent the results of elective subjects. The above example indicates the results of 2 electives as Level {{ex[4]}} and Level {{ex[5]}} respectively.

Some of the tertiary programmes (mainly associate degree and higher diploma) specify only Chinese Language and English Language as admission requirement. In this case, there are only 2 numbers before the plus sign. For example: {{ex[0]}}{{ex[1]}}+{{ex[2]}}{{ex[3]}}{{ex[4]}}{{ex[5]}}

The 2 numbers before the plus sign represent the results of Chinese Language and English Language respectively. The numbers after the plus sign represent the results of electives that may include Mathematics or Liberal Studies.

Total grade point

Because each candidate entered for different subjects, in order to indicate the overall result of a candidate, HKEAA adopts a scoring scheme to convert an exam result to a "total grade point". Higher the value of total grade point, better is the candidate’s result. The maximum total grade point is 35.

First, convert the result of each Category A or B subject to a grade point according to the following table. Each subject may have maximum grade point at 7. The result of Unclassified in Category A subject or Unattained in Category B subject obtains no grade point. And all Category C subjects are not counted.

Category A: Senior secondary subjectsCategory B: Applied Learning SubjectsGrade point
DSE exam in 2017 or beforeDSE exam in 2018 or later
5**7
5*6
55
4Attained with distinction (II)4
3Attained with distinctionAttained with distinction (I)3
2AttainedAttained2
11

Then, calculate the total grade point by adding up the grade points of respective subjects. HKEAA in general use two methods to calculate the total grade point.

Method 1

For admission requirement of undergraduate places, add up the grade points of the 4 core subjects and the best one elective, totally 5 subjects. If the candidate sat Extended part of Mathematics, take the better result of either Compulsory or Extended part. Taking {{ex[0]}}{{ex[1]}}{{ex[2]}}{{ex[3]}}+{{ex[4]}}{{ex[5]}} as an example, total grade point is {{gp[0]}}+{{gp[1]}}+{{gp[2]}}+{{gp[3]}}+{{gp[4]>gp[5]?gp[4]:gp[5]}} = {{gp[0]+gp[1]+gp[2]+gp[3]+(gp[4]>gp[5]?gp[4]:gp[5])}}.

Method 2

For admission requirement of associate degree or higher diploma, add up the grade points of Chinese Language and English Language, in addition the best 3 other subjects, also totally 5 subjects. Taking {{ex[0]}}{{ex[1]}}+{{ex[2]}}{{ex[3]}}{{ex[4]}}{{ex[5]}} as an example,total grade point is {{gp[0]}}+{{gp[1]}}+{{gp[2]}}+{{gp[4]}}+{{gp[5]}} = {{gp[0]+gp[1]+gp[2]+gp[4]+gp[5]}}.

The methods of calculating total grade points described above are used by EDB for doing statistics. The tertiary institutions however use their own different methods to calculate the admission scores of their applicants. Moreover, each programmes of each institution may use different formulas to do the calculation. When choosing the programmes, a candidate should fully understand the scoring scheme used by their favourite programmes in order to maximize the chance of success.

文憑試簡介

香港中學文憑考試,簡稱文憑試 (HKDSE),是一個為配合新高中學制而設的全港性公開考試。新高中學制由 2009 年開始推行,學生修畢三年高中(中四至中六)課程後,可參加文憑試,藉着所考獲的成績,透過大學聯合招生辦法 (JUPAS) 或 E-APP,報讀 4 年制大學學士學位課程,或兩年制副學位課程,亦可選擇其他出路。

高中科目

打算參加文憑試的高中學生,須預早於就讀中三時,選定高中修讀的科目,以為文憑試作好準備。學生須要修讀 4 個核心科目(俗稱「必修科」),與及最多 4 個選修科,但選修 2 至 3 個較為適合大部分學生。新高中學制沒有傳統文理分流的限制,但選科時應考慮個人的能力、興趣、志向等,以取得最佳的表現和造就個人未來的發展方向。為顧及學生的全人發展,在學科以外,學生亦須要參與「其他學習經歷 (OLE)」,完成後可於報讀專上課程時供院校作參考。

科目種類

文憑試提供的科目分為 3 個類別,分別為:

甲類:高中科目

文憑試的甲類科目共有 24 科,包括 4 個核心科目(中國語文、英國語文、數學及通識教育)和 20 個選修科目。選修科目歸類為多個學習領域,包括「語文教育」、「個人、社會及人文教育」、「科學教育」、「科技教育」、「藝術教育」及「體育」。想瞭解更多,請瀏覽:文憑試 - 甲類:高中科目

乙類:應用學習科目

文憑試的應用學習科目都與個別專門行業有密切關係,着重學生對某行業的知識、理解和技巧。課程均由十多所經教育局認可的機構提供,每個課程為期兩年。想瞭解更多,請瀏覽:文憑試 - 乙類:應用學習科目

丙類:其他語言科目

文憑試的其他語言科目包括六種語言:法語德語印地語日語西班牙語烏爾都語。香港考評局採用 Cambridge International 高級補充程度的考試卷進行六科的考核,並且批改與評分均由 Cambridge International 進行。想瞭解更多,請瀏覽:文憑試 - 丙類:其他語言科目

科目選擇

甲類科目中包含 4 個核心科目,其中的「中國語文」、「英國語文」、「數學」必修部分及「通識教育」,是報讀本地學士課程的必須科目,所以一般被稱為「必修科」,「數學」的延伸部分則是選修的。而報讀本地副學位課程,則只有「中國語文」和「英國語文」是必須的。

除了 4 個核心科目外,考生可從 20 個甲類高中選修科目、屬多個學習領域的乙類應用學習科目和 6 個丙類其他語言科目中,選報最多 4 個選修科目,但以選報 2 至 3 個選修科目最為常見。每個文憑試最多可報考 8 科。如報考核心科目中數學科的延伸部分,該部分會與數學科的必修部分視作同一科,而不會被視作一個額外的選修科。不過,不少聯招課程都將數學科的延伸部分視作一個獨立的選修科來計算入學分數。一般情況,考生不應報考少於 6 科,因為很多聯招課程的最低入學條件都要求 4 個核心科目,再加上至少兩個選修科目,如果只報考 5 科,聯招課程的選擇便會大大減少。如果報考 8 科的話,當中最少 1 科必須從以下科目中挑選:(甲類科目)倫理與宗教、音樂、體育、視覺藝術、乙類各科及丙類各科。乙類應用學習科目是兩年制課程,學生可透過就讀學校向教育局申請,在中五開始修讀最多兩個應用學習科目。

成績等級

甲類、乙類和丙類科目的成績都有不同的表達方式。

甲類:高中科目

甲類科目的成績共有 5 個等級,由最低的第 1 級至最高的第 5 級。而第 5 級之中,成績最優異的約 10% 考生可獲 5**級,次優異的約 30% 考生可獲 5* 級,其餘約 60% 考生則獲第 5 級,但甲類科目中的「中國語文」、「英國語文」及「組合科學」另有基制來釐定 5** 和 5* 級的臨界分數,所以比例不一定是 10% 和 30%。第一級以下的成績稱為「不予評級」或以 U 代表,但不會在證書上列出。所以,甲類科目的成績共有 8 個可能性,從優至劣排序為:5**5*54321U

乙類:應用學習科目

乙類科目的成績共有 3 個可能性,依序從優至劣分別為:「達標並表現優異」、「達標」及「未達標」。未達標的成績不會在證書上列出。從 2018 年的文憑試開始,「達標並表現優異」將細分為「達標並表現優異(I)」和「達標並表現優異(II)」,但「應用學習中文(非華語學生適用)」除外。

丙類:其他語言科目

丙類科目的成績共分為 5 級,從優至劣分別為:abcde。e 以下的成績稱為「不予評級」或以 U 代表,但不會在證書上列出。

文憑試成績的表達方式

為方便表達一名考生各科的成績,習慣上會簡單以一串數字附以中間一個加號(+)來表示,例如: {{ex[0]}}{{ex[1]}}{{ex[2]}}{{ex[3]}}+{{ex[4]}}{{ex[5]}}

加號前的 4 個數字分別代表 4 個核心科目的成績,依次為「中國語文」(第 {{ex[0]}} 級)、「英國語文」(第 {{ex[1]}} 級)、「數學」(第 {{ex[2]}} 級)及「通識教育」(第 {{ex[3]}} 級);而加號後方的數字為選修科目的成績,以上例子表示了兩個選修科目的成績分別為第 {{ex[4]}} 級和第 {{ex[5]}} 級。

部分大專課程(主要是副學士和高級文憑課程)的入學要求只會指定「中國語文」和「英國語文」為必須科目,這情況通常加號前只有兩個數字,例如: {{ex[0]}}{{ex[1]}}+{{ex[2]}}{{ex[3]}}{{ex[4]}}{{ex[5]}}

加號前的兩個數字分別代表「中國語文」和「英國語文」的成績,而加號後的數字是選修科的成績,亦可以包括「數學」或「通識教育」。

總積點

因為各考生報考的科目和科數都不同,為方便表達考生的整體成績,考評局採用一套計分方法,將每名考生的成績換算成一個總得分,稱為「總積點」,以概括考生的表現。總積點的數值越高,表示考生考獲的成績越佳,而總積點最高為 35 分。

首先,將每個甲類和乙類科目的成績依下表換算成「積點」,每科的積點最高為 7 分。如在甲類科目獲「不予評級」,或乙類科目的「未達標」成績,都不獲積點,而且所有丙類科目都不會計算在內。

甲類:高中科目乙類:應用學習科目積點
2017 年或以前的文憑試2018 年或以後的文憑試
5**7
5*6
55
4達標並表現優異(II)4
3達標並表現優異達標並表現優異(I)3
2達標達標2
11

其後,將各科的積點加起來得出總積點。考評局大致採用了兩個方法來計算總積點:

方法一

針對學士學位的入學要求,將四個核心科目和一個成績最佳的選修科目的績點加起來,合共計算五科。如果考生有應考數學科的延伸部分,則以必修部分或延伸部分較佳者作計算。以 {{ex[0]}}{{ex[1]}}{{ex[2]}}{{ex[3]}}+{{ex[4]}}{{ex[5]}} 為例子,總積點是 {{gp[0]}}+{{gp[1]}}+{{gp[2]}}+{{gp[3]}}+{{gp[4]>gp[5]?gp[4]:gp[5]}} = {{gp[0]+gp[1]+gp[2]+gp[3]+(gp[4]>gp[5]?gp[4]:gp[5])}}。

方法二

針對副學士或高級文憑課程的入學要求,將核心科目中「中國語文」和「英國語文」,與及其餘最佳三科的績點加起來,同樣計算五科。以 {{ex[0]}}{{ex[1]}}+{{ex[2]}}{{ex[3]}}{{ex[4]}}{{ex[5]}} 為例子,總積點是 {{gp[0]}}+{{gp[1]}}+{{gp[2]}}+{{gp[4]}}+{{gp[5]}} = {{gp[0]+gp[1]+gp[2]+gp[4]+gp[5]}}。

以上計算總績點的方法是考評局作統計考生成績之用,各大專院校卻另有不同的方法來計算考生的入學分數,而且每所院校的每個課程都或會有不同的計算方法,考生選報課程時必須查明心儀課程的計分方法,以掌握自己的勝算。